Speaking with An Accent

These days I am experiencing blunt racism in Canada, it is no longer hidden racism as it was perceived to be. When I am talking to people, they tell me, I noticed you are not from here, you speak with an accent. As if that person was an aboriginal person, I would believe that person was the actual owner of this land. The point is here when a person tells me, I speak English with an accent, it means that they are interested about what keeps us apart and not our common denominator which is humanity.

Last, you too speak English with an accent because there is no one universal English accent.

 

Leave a Reply

