Monarch Park Swimming Pool

This is Monarch Park Swimming pool, I worked at this swimming pool one summer back in 94s or maybe 95s.

monarch-park-pool1

There used to be a watchtower by the diving board and I was sitting on it and watching people. Several guys, it appeared to me they were Jamaican, they were laughing and were telling me, and pointing a guy to me that he wanted to dive into the deep end, and not letting him to do because he did not know how to swim.

I looked at him and he was a big guy and assumed his friends were just causing trouble for him. He walked on the diving board and dived in the semi-circle area of the pool. He began to splash the water around himself, I thought he was joking with me. My brain began to kick in training, he was splashing the water around himself because he did not know how to swim. I blew my whistle and dived in the pool. I went under him and put him on my hip. My brain began to go through all the training stages that I received. He was bigger than me, I was short of breath, and could not come-up to take fresh air, he would pull me down. In that case, I had to kick him away from me and move to another stage of rescue which was a donut or hanger to pull him aside. So, I sucked up and pull him to the side of the pool and two guys that they were lifeguards, they pulled him out of the pool.

During hot summertime, lifeguards were not doing lifeguarding, we were doing crowd control. I had an amazing time with lifeguards and patrons of the pool.

Leave a Reply

